erin here.  I was gone for the past week and when I came in today, I was so proud of how the store looks!  It is funky and eclectic and still a work in progress, but it’s shaping up quite nicely.   I was delighted to see that Melissa’s husband put up our dressing room, and the drapes match the carpet (ha ha).  Seriously though, the back room had what I thought was the most awful shade of red rug, but with the matching curtains, the buttery yellow walls and white trim, it looks really sharp!

My week in Vermont was absolute heaven.  I am such a lucky girl, and am so appreciative of my  “partner in crime” Melissa for holding down the fort at Wishlist while I was gone.   As a jewelry artist, I’ve got it pretty good.  I am working with one of the most talented, genuine, down to earth and downright lovely artists I know.  I share a viable and successful business with a business partner who is also a good friend.  I’ve got an amazing and supportive husband and family.  Sigh.  Ok, enough gushing!   I just want to express my gratitude and count my blessings.

While in Vermont, I worked with the new Sterling clay for the first time and I LOVED it!  I will be doing more experimenting, but you can bet that will be an upcoming class here at Wishlist (the boutique that can style you head to toe and teach you how to make jewelry to boot!)  It works very much like PMC + and Pmc3 and the biggest differences I saw were all entirely positive (a longer working time, more flexibility and more strength for starters).  I was most concerned about the firing, since the sterling needs to be fired in carbon, but it was much less scary and mysterious to do than I’d imagined.  Here’s a picture of the pieces getting ready to load for their second firing…

Preparing for the carbon firing

Confused about the above paragraph? Not sure what PMC or Metal clay are?   Come take a class in Metal Clay at Wishlist!  February classes are now forming.  And don’t miss the talented and sweet Holly Gage who will be coming to the store in April with two excellent classes:  Setting Stones like a Pro (in metal clay) and Elegant Meadow Pods.  Get more information here, or call Wishlist at 316-655-1050.

I can’t wait until my next trip to Vermont.  But first will be a trip to the Gem and Mineral Show in Tuscon!  I will be posting some blogs about my experiences there, so please check back in.   Until we meet again…

Vermont Vista

